Primary Source Material: The Hot-Crazy Scale

My writing can’t do justice to Barney Stinson’s lecture on the the Hot-Crazy Scale, so I’ll let Doogie Howser take it away.

(The Vicky Mendoza Diagonal is a satiric reference to the baseball concept of the Mendoza Line, the batting average below which a player is a net negative to the team, despite his defensive skills, and should be removed from the lineup. I have also heard the Mendoza Line defined as the batting average below which the player will never return to functional offensive performance. The popular definition of the Mendoza Line is a batting average of .200.)

THE ALPHA-BETA SCALE

A parallel concept for men to consider is that a man can only be as beta as he is alpha – in other words, he will only draw relationship benefits from his beta traits to the degree he is also attractive to his mate.

READER EXERCISE

A fun party game: locate both yourself and your various romantic partners on the following plot. Or draw an arc that charts the progress of your relationship over time.

21 Comments

Filed under media, original research, primary sources

21 responses to “Primary Source Material: The Hot-Crazy Scale

  1. thank you very much for this mr. wile-e-coyote.

    i can’t believe they got the mandy from “the secret gf”. girl is BANGING.

    and for the record, i read the “alpha-beta scale” and, well……. :/

    thanks for FINALLY adding me to the roll. lol. susan made to my nec of the woods, i was quite flattered. i had had no clue i was even on her radar.

  2. danny,

    That actress has the perfect “crazy eyes.” Some girls appear to have their orbital muscles connected directly to their dopamine systems. Whenever they get a rush or a thrill (or the promise of such), their eyes flash. Often I find it’s a second-order slut tell.

  3. btw you are now on the blogroll.

  4. Badger-

    i saw that, thank you. you flatter me sir.

    still wating for a repsonse on the email. i still can’t believe susan stopped by my site. how the hell did that happen? lol.

  5. johnnymilfquest

    My last long-term girlfriend was at the lower end of the x axis but was very high up the y axis right out of the gate.

    She tended to slip down the y axis on occasion and then crawl back up slowly. The first time she slipped into the pain zone for an extended period was the first time we split and I moved out.

    During the hiatus I met a woman who was a good way along the x axis but still close to the bottom of the y axis. A few glorious hook ups and then she dumped me. Back to the pain zone.

    Took the Red Pill and moved back in with my ex shortly after. The second time around with my ex was more volatile. Back to the pain zone. She’s dumped for good now, but we are still platonic friends.

    I’ve given up on the idea of an LTR altogether. I’m very open to the idea of hook-ups, but I suspect these may be rather infrequent. No biggie. I’m starting to enjoy my own company alot more.

  6. Dan in Philly

    johnny, don’t give up! Just because you ate a a bad restaraunt twice doesn’t mean you should never go out to eat again! There are good ones out there. The trick is making yourself as attractive as possible to snare one.

    1) Learn game – which you are doing
    2) Make money – you don’t have to become Bill Gates, but you absolutely have to demonstrate the ability to provide for at least 20 years for a serious high flyer (high X high Y) to pay any real attention to you. Go to school for a real degree (accounting/business/engineering) and/or start your own business. As you accomplish more and more, you will (combined with game) become more and more attractive to the kind of woman who makes an ideal LTR mate.
    3) If you can’t get the 100s (that is, 10 on physical X 10 on mental), learn how to poach in the 90s and 80s. Search for 30 YO hotties with no children coming off a LTR which didn’t work out for them. They are not yet desparate, and still hot and young enough to party and be a wife and mother, but they no longer think they will be young forever, and are much more interested in settling down and not just having fun. Screen these for the qualities you want. Former 10s and 9s may now be 9s and 8s, but if they are also 8s, 9s, and 10s mentally they are still way above what you are used to.
    4) Don’t continue to be friends with a gal who isn’t still your GF – the odds it will end up well are almost zero, and she can MAJORLY screw up your next LTR! She sees you with a hottie, remembers why she liked you in the first place, and boom goes the dynamite!! She’s undermining you as much as she can until the new GF either dumps you or demands you dump the former GF. Get it out of the way now and end it.

  7. I love this character. I’ve had a few friends say I act just like him.

    Badger, you asked about how to get a girl’s number after a quick daytime chat. I recommend you pick up Roosh’s day game book once it’s released. I’m reading Day Bang right now and it’s full of useful advice for the day gamer.

  8. Kane,

    To my more beta friends, I probably sound like Barney. His debonair style is sharp.

    Funny you mention Day Bang, I have my review copy on my desk right now but haven’t had the chance to really dig yet. (Teaser, my review will be coming next week.)

  9. detinennui32

    Brilliant.

  10. johnnymilfquest

    @Dan in Philly:

    Are you happily married or in an LTR yourself?

    If you are, then good for you. I’m just not tempted by that kind of set-up any more.

    “…you don’t have to become Bill Gates, but you absolutely have to demonstrate the ability to provide for at least 20 years for a serious high flyer (high X high Y) to pay any real attention to you.”

    If I find a job, learn new sills, start a business, etc. then it will be for me and me alone.

    “…still hot and young enough to party and be a wife and mother”

    I have never wanted children and even when I was down for an LTR I knew that the institution of marriage had nothing to offer me.

    “Don’t continue to be friends with a gal who isn’t still your GF – the odds it will end up well are almost zero, and she can MAJORLY screw up your next LTR!”

    As I said, I don’t want an LTR. My ex lives several hundred miles away and we only talk on the phone.

  11. Lainey

    That explains all the “How do I tame my neurotic wife?” posts on Athol’s site. LOL What happens when her looks go? Then she’s just craaaazy.

  12. Lainey,

    Thanks for leaving a comment, welcome. The particular case you bring up is a bit different in my view.

    There are plenty of women who were pleasant and sweet when they got married only to turn into controlling harpies years down the road. This is not a downward shift on the hot-crazy scale; it’s a rightward rise in crazy usually brought on by a drop in the man’s attractiveness, which induces an existential panic that the woman’s passed-on genes aren’t going to be taken care of. This in turn causes spurious fitness testing, neuroticism, control freaking and other manifestations of relationship anxiety.

    We discussed this at Athol’s place, which makes me wonder if you listened to my response there. You seem to think that guys marry hot crazy women, and when they lose their hots they are suddenly unbearable. The cases Athol is dealing with don’t really work that way. I encourage you to open your eyes to the sheer number of men under the thumb of a miserable woman who was nothing like that when they got married. Saying “well you shouldn’t have married a crazy woman” is worse than useless because that’s not what’s going on. The point of Athol and Dave From Hawaii is that those changes can be reversed by men acting in the correct manner. Probably thousands of men have already made such a change happen and more coming by the day.

    You say you don’t have any crazy in you and don’t create drama for attention purposes, which by a straw poll of men puts you in a distinct minority of women. That’s great, but it doesn’t mean your experience is typical.

    Stick around, this place will be fun for you.

  13. Bb

    “I encourage you to open your eyes to the sheer number of men under the thumb of a miserable woman who was nothing like that when they got married.”

    This leaves me wondering about a few things:
    1. Were there no tells ever that the girl was high drama? Was she hiding the crazy?

    2. Are the men exactly the same as when they got married? Or did they slide into “beta” and change? So the women changed accordingly as well?

    3. Has any male here been in a marriage where the woman remained consistent?

    Perhaps my female friends are in a minority too. They’ve remained remarkably consistent in and out of marriage. The crazy high-drama ones were that way when dating. The calmer, lucid non-drama ones were as well. The switching woman who hides or changes into crazy, I don’t know as well.

  14. Matt

    If I had any balls at all, I would post that bottom graph onto Facebook and tag all my female friends on it.

    But alas, I have no balls.

  15. johnnymilfquest

    @Matt:

    You DO have testicles. You DO want to post that on Facebook. What’s the worst that could happen?

  16. .”

    This leaves me wondering about a few things:
    1. Were there no tells ever that the girl was high drama? Was she hiding the crazy?

    ———————–

    These are great questions. Are men just blinded by love? or blinded by hotness?

    I’m thinking the beta increased and the women reacted by increasing the drama-women are reactive that way

  17. Matt,

    You could always just put the points on the graph without names. Maybe with a comment that says “you know who you are…”

  18. Lyla,

    Thanks for stopping by. You’ve touched on what I’ve said above – there are women who become crazy, and women who just are crazy. On the latter:

    “These are great questions. Are men just blinded by love? or blinded by hotness?”

    I think it’s a matter of tradeoffs. In cases where a woman really is nuts or something like it, plenty of guys tolerate it because (this has been discussed ad infinitum at Hooking Up Smart) most men have very little access to sex, and so the value of a steady source of sex, even a dysfunctional one, is sky-high.

    There’s a colloquial understanding on the street that crazy girls are the best in the sack. I can’t say I have a statistically-significant sample to draw conclusions from, but it’s easy to observe that women with uninhibited personalities tend to be more sexually adventurous out in the open so I bet it translates to the sack. I’ve talked to more than one guy who knows he’s dating a crazy chick and tells us that the sex is out of this world, and he gives a sheepish smile that tells us he hopes to get out of the relationship before things get too serious (before he falls too deeply in love to get out, or she falls so deeply in love that she’ll stalk him or something).

    On the former:

    “I’m thinking the beta increased and the women reacted by increasing the drama-women are reactive that way.”

    Sounds like you’ve been reading Athol Kay, if you haven’t you might enjoy him. Some comments on this thread and at MMSL have assumed that the angry wife was always crazy and the guy ignored the signs. That’s not always the case; women can get very anxious and manifest it in control freaking and other nutty behavior if the man is not keeping us his masculine frame and staying attractive (and, often, maintaining his leadership role).

    As life changes, it’s important to be able to reinvent oneself to remain attractive in new frames. E.g., a 50-year old man is not going to have the same ability to clear brush, shovel snow, and otherwise dominate the physical world as his 25-year old self. He needs new alpha traits as the old ones wane.

    I’m unmarried with no kids, but from both my readings and my friends’ experiences, the child-bearing years are critical boilers for the remainder of the marriage. It’s so easy for the mother to get “married” to the children, for the father to go full beta subjugating himself to the needs of the mother (valid needs in the first few months of the child’s life) and never come out of that phase back into a spouse-centered marriage. I am not giving marriage-specific advice here but I posted on the issue a few months ago:

    https://badgerhut.wordpress.com/2011/03/26/marriage-is-part-of-parenting/

  19. NMH

    Adding a z-axis for female age would lead to an interesting contour plot.

  20. Pingback: Happy Birthday to the Badger Hut, Part 2: Best Posts | The Badger Hut

Leave a Reply

