Even Prince Worried About His Partner’s Number

A while back I heard Prince’s “Little Red Corvette,” I recall making a connection to the game and then promptly forgot about it. When I heard it this week it all became clear. In the song Prince (that’s his real first name, btw) plays Captain Save-A-Ho to a promiscuous woman.

I guess I should’ve known by the way U parked your car sideways
That it wouldn’t last
See, U’re the kinda person that believes in makin’ out once
Love ‘em and leave ‘em fast
I guess I must be dumb cuz U had a pocket full of horses
Trojan and some of them used     [ahh I see what he did there! -B]
But it was Saturday night, I guess that makes it all right
And U say – “What have I got 2 lose?”

And honey, I say Little Red Corvette
Baby, U’re much 2 fast (Oh)
Little Red Corvette
U need a love that’s gonna last

(Prince is perhaps the artist most hardcore about not having his music on YouTube – very few of his studio recordings are available there. So I had to go with an acoustic concert film.)

The lyric that really stuck out at me was this one:

I guess I should’ve closed my eyes when U drove me 2 the place
Where your horses run free
Cuz I felt a little ill when I saw all the pictures
Of the jockeys that were there before me

7 Comments

Filed under music

7 responses to “Even Prince Worried About His Partner’s Number

  1. Guardial

    Good catch. The lyrics are disturbing the first time you find yourself trying to sing along, and you realize just what you’re saying.

  2. So, the logic was ” Saturday night makes it alright”???
    and men say women have crazy logic!!

  3. P Ray

    She needs a love that’s going to last, from someone who can accept that she has been “worked over” by many others in the past, and whom she can stay loyal to.
    Otherwise, surprise surprise, it won’t.

  4. Somedude

    Great post; I’ve never paid attention to those lyrics before. Let’s dig a little deeper – why would he call her a Corvette? This record came out in ’82, right when the third generation Vette was scrapped, and about the nadir in Corvette history – shitty ride, low horsepower, a build quality that meant the tires would last longer than the car itself, etc. Seems like His Purpleness could see 30 years into the future if you apply the metaphor to modern-day girls, or were most girls that miserable to be around, even in 1982? I don’t know, I hadn’t left my dad’s nutsack at that point.

  5. Jen,

    I think you have it backwards, she’s trying to talk him into it and he gives in to rationalizing it himself.

    Somedude,

    I doubt Prince was that up on his knowledge of car models, but consider this – the 70′s were wild and swinging and so shirley there were some hussies to play muse to a song like this. That was when one-night stands were introduced and singles bars became a regular part of the yuppie experience.

    People like Susan Walsh have asserted that slutty women weren’t as slutty as they are now, but the Social Pathologist had some numbers showing promiscuity was through the roof in the 70′s (the specter of AIDS brought that to a halt).

    I think what we are going through today embodies the phrase “history repeats itself – first as tragedy, then as farce.” The nouveau-Victorian veneer the Boomers employed in the AIDS era to paper over their own hellcat past has been ripped away (starting with Bill Clinton’s troubles causing oral sex to be discussed on evening newscasts), but with a generation-plus of demasculinization thanks to feminism, divorce and silly educational policies, the sexual party has been enriched and concentrated in an ever-smaller crop of empowered men, serviced by an ever-more risk-taking (or risk-seeking) group of females.

    In response to a query from me, Vox Day riffed on the economics of limited alpha:

    http://alphagameplan.blogspot.com/2012/01/alpha-mail-collegiate-quantity.html

  6. jbamai

    I’ve heard this song so many freakin times (just radio airplay alone) I have all the riffs permanently etched into my brain. At first (I was just a kid) I thought this was a song about the legendary Chevy we all know and love (or hate). Then a little later on (middle school) I figured out this was a song about a woman. Having never had a chance to examine these lyrics I now see there is an even deeper level to this song….Great catch Badger.

  7. “Cuz I felt a little ill when I saw all the pictures”

    This.

    Man is just not made for this, unlike women whose interest spikes when they see you with another one.

    Cuz I felt a little ill.

    Been there, done that, it is more than “ill”… it is more like cancer that has metastasized and the only way back to health is carving it out with a dull knife.

Leave a Reply

