A Badger Hut Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving to my American readers (you Canadians have it both ways, you had your Thanksgiving last month and can sneak across the border for some November turkey).

My family has always been quick to invite various acquaintances to the Thanksgiving meal, people who couldn’t get to their own families, which combined with the potlucking of dishes has always given the holiday a spirit of friendliness and generosity. While I try to get back to the family home, as long as that spirit is present I’m not that concerned about whom I spend the holiday with.

Of course, there are peripheral benefits to holiday travel.

The Coney Dog, a heavenly treat

The airport restaurant told me they are no longer serving Vernor’s. Bitch please.

10 Comments

Filed under la dolce vita

10 responses to “A Badger Hut Thanksgiving

  1. That picture makes me really hungry

    Happy thanksgiving

  2. Before I die, I WILL have a NY hotdog.

    Happy Thanksgiving Brother. Stay up.

  3. Karen

    no Vernor’s?! that is a travesty!

    [You know it.]

  4. Danny,

    I suggest you recognize before you make a fool of yourself to my Midwestern readers.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coney_dog

  5. Double points to any reader who sends me a photo of eating a Coney whilst playing euchre (cheating obligatory of course).

  6. Happy thanksgiving Badger! And sorry that dog did not look appealing.

  7. Badgerino-
    Having never been further north than DC, I’ve never heard of any eateries in the norf area. I’m going to have to check my DVR for past episodes on food tv that may have addressed this.

    GEAUX TIGERS!!!!!

  8. CL

    you Canadians have it both ways, you had your Thanksgiving last month and can sneak across the border for some November turkey

    Ha ha! That is exactly what I did this year. And I even had my first ever Coney dog (not on Thanksgiving). Those things have their revenge in the form of some wicked gas later, but I guess it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

