Limey

Was at the grocery store tonight and passed a young woman in the soda aisle.

“Wow, it must be a tough night if you’ve got TWO limes.”

“What? [looks in hand] Oh, yeah.”

“Isn’t that enough for eight Coronas?”

“Haha.”

“It’s always good for a lime to have a buddy.”

“For sure, you don’t want him to get lonely.”

“I bet.”

I was feeling extremely introverted (blew off an earlier approach opportunity of a woman reading a book in the deli line because of it) so I ejected. Sometimes there are moments where it’s best to pack it in, and when you dread speaking to anybody including the dude stocking the shelves is one of those times.

15 Comments

Filed under dating and field game

15 responses to “Limey

  1. Shit, when I read “Limey,” I thought you were going to rip on Johnny Milfquest.

  2. Bronan,

    If that was the case I would have titled it “Tosser.”

  3. Dannyfrom504

    “if that was the case I would have titled it “Tosser.””
    Lol.

    I’ve said it before, approaches shouldn’t be forced. It usually won’t come off as your natural self. So I don’t think you were wrong to bail. But the lime exchange is fine. It was just a simple exchange between 2 people.

    Not every interaction has to result in a number exchange.

  4. johnnymilfquest

    Ha ha!

    I thought that Badger had f-closed an English girl. I was getting ready to high-five him.

    Cold approaching is harder for Badger because every time he talks to a new hottie at the back of his mind he’s thinking “…is she the one?”

    Whereas for me its more like this:

  5. Y

    Are you uncomfortable with silence early in the interaction?

    Silences are great, learn to love the tension.

  6. johnnymilfquest

    @Y:

    That’s a great domain name. Its true. Same “action” hormone (adrenalin) involved in fear and excitement.

  7. I think it’s good to tighten your Game without the pressure to close sometimes. That definitely qualifies as a tingle-producing interaction. I hope you at least walked away with a bit of a spring in your step.

  8. You like how I played both party-guy game and dad game by treating the limes like they were children.

  9. i left a comment earlier (on my phone) and it’s pending mederatoin (???)
    “I was feeling extremely introverted (blew off an earlier approach opportunity of a woman reading a book in the deli line because of it) so I ejected. Sometimes there are moments where it’s best to pack it in, and when you dread speaking to anybody including the dude stocking the shelves is one of those times.”

    this was a very good interaction. wasn’t forced, was light hearted and fun. i do this all the time. not every chat with a woman should be about getting digits or a date, but instead focus mostly on enjoying your day and talking with whomever you cross paths with. if you don’t feel like approaching…..you shouldn’t. i’ve ended up getting numbers with random women i’ve started conversations with out of the blue, doesn’t happen all the time, but i does happen. if there’s a spark, you’ll feel it, and escalate form there.

    that’s why i talk with EVERY woman i come in contact with.

  10. I’m like Danny in this. Hell, I barely ever think about getting phone numbers, at least at first.

    It’s a hoot to do. I just like goofing around with girls. Men don’t do it enough. Makes them laugh, makes me happy – win-win.

  11. Maybe the feeling that one just can’t bear talking to another person is an introvert thing? There are people out there that appear to have an unlimited ability for small talk! I think one of the strengths of a good relationship with another introvert is the capacity to just be companionable (or not) and NOT talk.

  12. When meeting a girl I hardly know (or don’t know at all), I sometimes have slow, deliberate conversations at the cost of sounding a bit retarded. The tone of voice calms down the girl a bit, and she’s free to cut off the conversation if she likes. This happens only if she’s *really* not into me (well, her loss).

  13. detinennui32

    “See, it finally clicked for me that dating can be just as soul-sucking and disheartening for men as it is for women. That encountering women like Alyssa could easily take the wind out of even the most confident man’s sails and make him distrustful that he won’t be judged so harshly by future dates. It made me think that perhaps some of the guys I’ve met through online dating, who frustrated me because they weren’t more clear about their intentions, were wary of taking the lead, and whose interest I questioned, might have had a few Alyssas in their recent dating past and damn if I don’t blame them for being guarded with me as a result.”

    *Facepalm”
    Well, DUH!

  14. Pingback: Happy Birthday to the Badger Hut, Part 2: Best Posts | The Badger Hut

  15. Pingback: Beating Approach Anxiety | The Badger Hut

Leave a Reply

